DiaBahamas

What I am about to say is an opinion: The unlimited processed food on cruises is repulsive.

This being said, my sugar was surprisingly awesome all cruise because I lived off of granola bars and pistachios since everything was gross.

If I can’t tell how many carbs are in something, I have a tendency to be conservative and just guess between 60 and 75. That is a lot in a meal for me. When I cook at home, I tend to stick between 30 and 60 depending on the meal. But when I go out (or on the cruise) that’s what I would guess, and I generally stayed between 120 and 150 the whole time, with the exception of one pretty intense low (from guessing too many carbs) and one high (a whole other story). Because I was not into the food and on shots the whole time, sometimes I just wouldn’t eat because I didn’t feel like giving myself a shot. Then I would dip into the 70s, eat half a granola bar and go about my day. There are so many upsides to shots, because–unlike most people I have spoken to– for me I feel like I have such good control with them. This is because my basal rate from long acting insulin tends to keep me more stable then the steady basal I get from Humalog/Novalog on the pump. On the pump I’ll go low if I don’t snack every few hours, where as on shots I don’t have to think about it as much. And because it isn’t as easy as just hitting some buttons, I don’t have a bunch of snacks on shots all the time, and tend to eat really stable meals. In general, because they are supposed to give you less control, it motivates me to have more control. Whereas with the pump (because I like eating and it is so easy) I’ll just have 9,000 samples at Whole Foods, think nothing of it, go home, and find a 275 BG on my meter. I am glad I did shots on this cruise, not just for the bikini aspect, but also so I could avoid the nasty overly processed excuse for what they were calling vegetables.

I am really picky. I eat all organic and vegetarian and mostly fresh fruits and veggies. I know for the other two diabetics who cruised with me, the food was not a problem. And they were up and down with their sugar levels more than me because they liked what was at the buffet. But for me, the all white carbs, canned produce, and obviously reconstituted ingredients caused me to have a ton of acid reflux and general gross feeling.

I’ll be more specific about the “goings-on” of the cruise when I get back from visiting Jacksonville this weekend to see Nick’s family.

One awesome piece of news that I did want to share is that I was contacted by Orlando’s JDRF executive director to take a personal meeting with me about my non-profit idea in the upcoming week! I got this e-mail on the cruise and I was ecstatic! I haven’t even begun explaining to you guys about my idea, but hopefully with the JDRF backing me, I can give you a play by play of starting a diabetes-related non-profit from the ground up.

Nick’s dad is a judge, so hopefully he can help me sketch out a legitimate business plan to present next week.I am so excited and have so much to share with you guys!

This is my cruise group. There are three Type 1 diabetics in this picture...can you spot us?? ;)...Didn't think so.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovehatediabetes
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 17:18:12

    I can imagine all the food they have, but how much is “actually” food is limited. At least you brought snacks 🙂
    I still use injections. I really like them, they allow me to be independent. I guess I’m not sure if I would like a pump more or not. I’ve been thinking about it a lot more, so we’ll see!
    Glad you’ve been having fun at least!

    Reply

    • divabetic913
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 15:03:24

      Do you get soreness from them?

      I like the pens, but I got really sick of them after like two weeks. I like that with the pump, whenever I want to eat I press three buttons and have whatever I want.

      I think I will be the kind of person who goes back and forth between the pump and shots. Which I like, because I feel like I get independence in both ways. And it also makes me feel like I’m not chained to my pump, which is how I felt in the beginning. Now I just remember that if I want to take it off, I can.

      Reply

      • lovehatediabetes
        Mar 12, 2012 @ 15:59:16

        Every once in a while I will get a sore spot that will bruise. For my fast acting insulin I take it in the stomach. I rarely get sores there. I do find close to my monthly friend I get little red dots where I inject. That’s about it.
        With my slow continuous acting insulin, I will get bruises and spots that really are sore to the touch. I take these shots in my upper arms on the inside. I switch arms every night to give the other side a break.

Leave a Reply

