How to Start a Non-Profit

Let me start by saying that I have no idea how to start a non-profit. All I have is an idea, passion, and some very smart people helping send me in the right direction.

Now let me be honest and tell you that when I pitched my idea to the JDRF and they asked to meet with me personally, I got so excited I sent them a quick e-mail from the cruise ship last week. And then this week I was wondering why I hadn’t heard back yet…so I read what I wrote to them. I spelled “available”…”availavile”…twice…in one e-mail.I have a tendency to get too exited a type really fast.I notice that I do this on my blog all the time. Its embarrassing. It makes me look stupid. And I need to quit it.Obviously with papers I am very meticulous, but that really doesn’t matter when you are no longer in college and no longer writing papers. I am going to give the JDRF lady a few days, cuz I e-mailed her yesterday explaining that I was still very interested to meet and that I had sent the e-mail “quickly from my phone on a cruise ship with a bad Wi-Fi connection.” However, I am very nervous that I put my foot in my own mouth and killed my opportunity to work for them because of the letter “V.”

Should this be the case…well I’m gonna start this organization on my own I guess. Its an idea I am really excited about…which happened to already exist in San Diego, but Nick totally came up with independently of us having any awareness of the organization’s existence. But the lady there was very excited to hear that I wanted to do something similar here in Orlando and that is how she initially connected me with JDRF in the first place. So right now, I am just sending a bunch of e-mails and hoping. I’ll explain my idea once I solidify it and see it manifesting itself. But until then, I am just researching the immense amount of paperwork I’d have to fill out and brainstorming ideas for fundraising. From the research I have done, starting a non-profit in Florida is going to be a full-time job for me, but I can’t really think of anything I would rather be doing.

What do you guys think…should I call that JDRF lady? Should I wait? I feel like a 14 year old girl waiting for the boy she likes to respond to the note she passed him in math class.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DiabeticallyYours
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 17:42:47

    Since you sent her an email yesterday, I’d wait until next monday? but that’s me haha! Can’t wait to hear the details!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

