Working Out/Losing Weight With Diabetes

I gained a lot of weight when I started taking insulin. A lot of diabetics have told me that insulin makes you gain weight, but also I lost so much weight in the months leading to my diagnosis, I am pretty sure my body was desperate to pack on some pounds and get back to being healthy. I am relatively small framed (minus my boobs…) but I do not like the way this new weight looks on me. Around December I got sick of feeling bad about myself and got into a very intense work out regimen. I was completely out of shape, as I had lost so much weight and ate my face off in Paris, I hadn’t had a good work out in months. I was also very paranoid of going low. The first few work outs kicked my butt and I would drop 80 BG points in a one hour session. So I started going at least 6 days a week. And my endurance has improved so much. When I first started, I could hold a plank for 44 seconds, now I can last over 2 1/2 minutes. I could barely run a 1/4 mile with out feeling like my lungs were going to explode, and now I can at least finish a mile before I start walking again. However, being busy and stressed has caused me to neglect the awesome habits I was getting into. Since I have gotten back from the cruise, I have managed to get about two work outs in per week. And ultimately, though I loved the endurance and energy I got from working out, I didn’t see any weight loss. In fact, I gained even more weight. I know that most of this was probably muscle, and I have noticed that I do look more toned. However, I cannot seem to slim down.

It is frustrating, because before my diagnosis, I was so skinny that for the first time in my life I would slide on a skin tight dress and run out the door with out giving it a second thought. I was eating what ever I wanted and never working out. Now, I am on a much more restrictive diet, and have to count the carbs in everything that I eat. I work out all the time, yet I am gaining weight.

I know that health needs to be my top priority, but I don’t know how to lose weight with diabetes!

This is me (smack dab in the middle and the palest of the bunch) after 3 months of fiercely working on my fitness. There are three Type 1's in this photo!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kofitness2010
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 01:19:52

    insulin will definitely make you gain weight. I am a personal trainer and one of the main things I talk about is controlling insulin levels. Also you definitely need to get in the gym more then 2 times a week. 5 hours a week is usually the amount needed to really see a large change in your body. You definitely need to do some HIIT training and also need to incorporate building muscle which will boost your resting metabolic rate. Good luck to you!

    Reply

    • divabetic913
      Mar 21, 2012 @ 10:00:37

      I know…I was doing HIIT with different classes that are offered at my university’s gym. Otherwise most of the cardio I do is on the elliptical or running. I was going like 6 days a week, but I lost most of my momentum when I wasn’t seeing any changes after a 2 1/2 month period. Right now I am kind of in a slump and can’t seem to figure out how to stay motivated, as I am finishing up two thesis projects and have a job interview and a puppy…I have sort of just let working out fall off my priorities list. Thanks for the advice tho!

      Reply

  2. lovehatediabetes
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 12:49:08

    I definitely agree with you Cara. I had like NO fat on my body before I developed diabetes, and when I did I lost even more weight. Very unhealthy, but when I was diagnosed I quickly regained to my old self. Since then, I’ve gained about ten pounds in the course of three years. I mostly get my fat in the lower belly right on the sides of my belly button. I’ve basically only gotten fat there, a little on my legs. but the majority has been on my tummy. I’m not sure if I can lose this. I’ve tried very hard like you have too! I rotate my shots to both sides of my stomach, so I’m not sure if the site where I take insulin effects how I can lose weight there. Might have to check into that one!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Type 1s: Trimming Down and Toning Up Together « diabuddies

Leave a Reply

