Lows and Highs

I made arepas and guacamole for myself and Nick for dinner tonight. Even typing that made me want to throw up because I really underestimated the carbs and felt like I was going to vomit all night. Now I am at a decent 147, but though I usually don’t get very strong symptoms from a high…that one was just gross. When I eat too many carbs (over 70 or so) even though I give myself enough insulin, sometimes my body doesn’t digest the insulin and carbs at the same time. When this happens my sugar (and my stomach) does horrible back flips for hours. However, as most diabetics will probably agree…lows are the worst. The shaky, confused…profusely sweating lows make me feel like I am about to die.

But high and low symptoms and sensitivity are different for every diabetic…so I am here to ask, what are your high and low feelings??

Happy that I have a fruit tart!

Sad that I ate said fruit tart and now feel gross.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovehatediabetes
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 00:29:15

    Crazy and scary as it seems, sometimes my “lows” don’t hit me until I am up and moving. Have you experienced this? If I just ate supper, or a snack or whatever, and go lay down and snuggle to watch a show, my lows don’t really drop until I finally get up and start moving around. OR they’ve always been there, I just don’t feel them until I’ve started moving more. It’s kind of weird. And especially frustrating when I’ve watched a show right before bed and this happens. I have to wait to brush my teeth and carry on with getting ready for bed so I can bring my sugars back up.

    Reply

    • divabetic913
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 08:53:12

      That doesn’t really happen to me, but I have heard that from A LOT of other people! I wonder what it is about the movement…

      Reply

      • lovehatediabetes
        Mar 22, 2012 @ 13:27:34

        No clue! It’s a bit scary when you think about it. What if I had fallen asleep when watching my show? I would end up going low while sleeping. That’s never good news. I guess that’s why we monitor so closely!

      • divabetic913
        Mar 22, 2012 @ 13:40:50

        Yupp! That is one thing about the pump…sometimes I just turn down my basal rate for the night if I am falling asleep and haven’t eaten anything.

  2. DiabeticallyYours
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 08:39:19

    It’s never the same for me! Sometimes I could be sky rocket high and not feel a thing, or even super low and still no symptoms… But most times I do feel the lows. Just very rarely will I feel the highs.

    When I do feel the highs, it’s usually when my hands become super swollen. Weird huh?

    Reply

  3. jocelynmchenryarruda
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:37:23

    I think I’ve been really lucky…I have always woken up when my BG drops at night…I wake up feeling sweaty, cold, and loopy…then I head for the orange juice. This was really bad when I was pregnant. I was so concerned about making sure I took the correct amount of carbs that I would stumble around in the dark, often dropping my meter (or parts of it!) and more than once spilled my juice. Now I just drink it, I already know I’m low!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

