Type 1s: Trimming Down and Toning Up Together

What I am about to say is sort of hypocritical since I just wrote a post complaining about how I am too small to comfortably insert my pump anywhere. That being said, I want to feel comfortable in my own skin, and right now…I don’t.

I have complained before about how I have gained weight since my diagnosis. I just don’t like how it sits on me, especially on my face. When I wrote about losing weight with diabetes, (which you can read about here) a lot of women contacted me saying that they too experienced frustration with loosing weight and diabetes. I have also read this on a lot of other diabetes blogs, and spoke to diabetics about this in person. Whether loosing weight is a personal goal, or you are using physical exercise as a way to control your blood sugar, exercise is an immensely important part of a healthy diabetic lifestyle.

Therefore…I have decided to be your guinea pig. This has mutual benefit…I have to keep up with this since I committed to blogging about it, and you can share your experiences, tips, and questions with other diabetics. Every week, I will post at least one challenge. This will be an exercise, lifestyle commitment (such as drinking 8 glasses or water a day or using the stairs as opposed to elevators etc.), or a diet/recipe to try.  I will also be testing out how different diets affect my blood sugars and weight. I will be measuring myself with a tape measure to see how many inches I lose over time (as weighing will be less useful because I will probably gain muscle).

I know that we have different fitness goals…but we share one thing, diabetes. So I am making a commitment to you to share my experiences. I hope that you will try some of these things as well!

Addy= 5lb weight

Challenges start on Monday! Are you ready???

I just want to close in saying that I am not a health care professional. All of my tips are based on my personal experiences. If you are considering any serious diet/exercise commitment you should consult a healthcare professional.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DiabeticallyYours
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:25:44

    Definitely ready!!!
    That being said, you look stunning already! haha!
    My first weight-in is sunday, ever since starting WW. I need to lose about 80 lbs though… oof!!

    Reply

  2. lovehatediabetes
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 22:32:02

    I think the trick is to just stay active. Ever since I stopped playing hockey this year, I’ve noticeably gained some fat. Keeping active and eating right are the greatest steps you can take 🙂 Oh yeah, AND motivation is key!
    You’ll do great! I’m looking forward to your progress, as I know you’ll have lots!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: It’s Gonna Be a Long Week (Fitness, Dexcom, Homework) « diabuddies

Leave a Reply

