Fitness Day Four

Hey guys!

Yesterday was such a long day! I got up, did my training after eating a left over cheesecake muffin. My BG was 122 after eating and running. I drove 2 hours to Gainesville for a meeting that ended up not happening. I visited my favorite diabetes RN at the University of Florida Student health Care Center, and then I headed off to the Undergraduate Research Symposium to display the project I have been working on for the last year.

I'm a nerd.

There were some other interesting projects on display. My personal favorite was, of course, the one about the artificial pancreases that had been implanted in diabetic mice. (Half were cured of diabetes, the others not so much.)

Anyway, then I drove all the way back to Orlando and met Nick and his coworkers for a drink. When I finally got home at 11:00 p.m. I had to clean Addy’s poop off of the floor. 😦 I went low 3 times because I never really had time to eat. the I over treated because I was worried about it happening again. However, when I went to bed my sugar was 110.

So today I took it pretty easy…meaning that after I got out of class I “accidentally” fell asleep for 3 1/2 hours.

Though I have been doing my running, and eating lots of healthy recipes (I am about to make one which I will share with you tomorrow), I literally haven’t had ANY other time to do strength training or anything.

Just a tip for all of the other pumpers out there about basal rates. I know some of you probably do this, but after talking to some women who have told me they get really nervous about lows in the night or with exercise, I figured I would put this out there for those of you who haven’t thought about it. (For all you non-diabetics, a “basal” is the steady stream of insulin that we get throughout the day, whereas “bolus” is a boost of insulin we get for food. On the pump, the basal rate is automatic and we direct the pump to give us a bolus. On shots, there are separate shots for both of these things.) Anyway…when I don’t feel like eating and its 11:00 p.m. and I am about to go to bed, my sugar is usually in normal range. Then I get paranoid that I am going to have a low blood sugar in the middle of the night. So now what I do is set a “temporary basal” for 65-75% of my regular basal rate. I wake up in normal range 90% of the time with this. And if I am out of range, my sugar has ALWAYS been 130-140. I have never gone low after doing this. I also set temp. basals when I exercise, which is especially pertinent to those of you who are working out a lot like me. This is one of the biggest benefits of the pump. After you inject a long-acting insulin basal, you just have to deal with whatever the outcome is for your sugar. With a pump, I can decrease how much insulin I am getting whenever I want. I never snack before bed, as most people with diabetes think you need to do to keep steady overnight blood sugars. That would just cause me to gain weight. So temporary basal rates are the best thing ever to me!

Tomorrow I hope to get through at least half of the rough draft for my thesis. (Finally I will get to analyze all of the awesome date that you guys sent me!)

How are your fitness goals going??

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DiabeticallyYours
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 16:48:51

    I’ve been using my temp. basal all day! It’s a “Oh hi, I’m low all the time” day. So 75% it is lol. I think It’s the impact of losing weight and working out for the past week. My body suddenly doesn’t need as much insulin. Which basically answers you last question! 😉 I AM drinking my 8 glasses a day and sometimes with the help of Crystal light. Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

