Endo Nurse

At my endocrinologist appointment yesterday, they wanted to check if my meter was working correctly since I will get three totally different results when I run high sometimes. (I have a really cheap meter because I have to pay out of pocket for test strips.)

So a nurse comes in with the office meter and is priming it. I just thought it would be stupid for her to check it for me…I mean come on, I do that myself 10 times a day. Plus she was taking sort of a long time and individually alcohol swabbing all of my fingers, even though we’d only use one. So I offered to do it. And she gladly handed it to me. As I pressed the lancet to my finger she squeezed her eyes shut and turned away in disgust. And I said, “It bothers you?” She responded, “I can do it if I have to, but I don’t like to look at the blood.” Then afterward she insisted that I wash my hands AND use an alcohol swab.

I was SHOCKED.

1)WHY do you work as a nurse at an endocrinologist’s office if you can’t check people’s sugar?????

2) Why do you work as a nurse if a tiny drop of blood freaks you out so much?

3) WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM?

As a diabetic I check my sugar in public multiple times per week (in class, at restaurants, at the gym, when I feel low in the middle of a supermarket etc.) Yea, in the beginning I was self-conscious that I was bothering people. I used to be really grossed out by blood too. I get that it bothers some people, but I also don’t feel like I should have to feel shame about my disease. Additionally, if I feel like my sugar is low, I don’t care what people think, I am not going to take the time to go to a bathroom when I can just check where I am standing. 99.9% of the time people have no reaction. On the rare occasion that they do, I ap0logize and very obviously use my hand sanitizer in front of them afterward.

BUT A NURSE, AT AN ENDOCRINOLOGIST’S OFFICE?!?!?! COME ON!

Thoughts?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DiabeticallyYours
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 07:23:07

    ANY nurse should not be scared of blood, in my opinion. Even if they work at a hospital, they -will- eventually have to test someone’s blood sugar, take blood samples, or just SEE blood. The fact that the ENDO nurse is disgusted by blood makes me cringe a little more. Heck, my Endo nurse is type 1 diabetic! Used to it does not even describes it haha!

    Reply

  2. lovehatediabetes
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 17:21:09

    Wow. I can’t believe that happened to you, or that she even is qualified to be a nurse. I think if she has those issues, that’s fine. But she should not have to turn her head and convey to you that she is uncomfortable. I don’t think it’s normal for people to jump at the occasion to watch me poke myself, but I don’t think it’s right to make us feel uncomfortable.
    I’m sorry you had to go through that! Did you say anything to her?

    Reply

    • divabetic913
      Apr 04, 2012 @ 17:45:50

      No. I was sort of shocked. After writing the post I was wondering if I should call the doctor’s office and tell them. But…how could they not know? And its been a few days, so I feel like it doesn’t seem valid now. Also, its not like they perform surgery there so why should I get this lady fired? IDK…I feel pretty conflicted about it.

      Reply

      • lovehatediabetes
        Apr 04, 2012 @ 19:48:55

        Hmm..it’s a tough situation. If it happened again, I would definitely say something. If it makes you uncomfortable it’s important.

  3. BeccaRN
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 23:41:50

    Just stumbled on to this but had to say something. 1) A great blog. My older sister was a type 1 diabetic and never took care of herself. I don’t think she ever accepted the disease. She died a few years ago from complications of the disease. We miss her so much. Reading your blog and the responses of others who choose to be empowered is inspiring. 2) I am an RN. It is highly likely that the “nurse” you encountered in the endo’s office is not a nurse but maybe a medical assistant. RN’s rarely work in medical offices, the pay is way too low. The “nurse” would NEVER have survived nursing school as she was so squemish over a finger stick. 3) As an ER nurse I occasionally care for people who come in really sick to find out they are diabetics for the first time. I also care for lots of folks in DKA. I just had a patient last night who is in his late teens and found out he is diabetic. He was really upset, crying. I wish I had known about this blog. Can I reccomend it? Any other rescources you would reccomend for young people who find out they have diabetes for the first time or know they have it but are in denial and not taking care of themselves? Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

