My Sincerest Apologies

I’ve been a pretty bad blogger, I know. I haven’t posted since my JDRF interview. And, full disclosure…I was pretty disheartened by it. The JDRF is a great organization that does a huge amount of work for Type 1 diabetics every day. I know I don’t need to tell you that. I am just trying to acknowledge it in an attempt to not sound bitter when I discuss my interview. I was just very passionate about starting Diabuddies, and when I kept receiving e-mails and an interview offer from the JDRF I got my hopes up that I would be able to work there when I graduated. They we excited about my idea. They even wanted to do it, with me running the entire thing. Its just that they offered me a 40 hr/week unpaid internship to do it. And I would have had to pay the state fees and taxes on the organization out of my own pocket. I completely understand that JDRF like most non-profits doesn’t really have the budget to just create a position and program for some just graduated hopeful. However, I have to pay for insulin, not to mention rent and there is just no way that I would ever be able to take that offer. So I got kind of depressed, because I felt like all the time and effort and excitement that I had went to waste. I feel this way because I think that newly diagnosed diabetics would have really benefited from my idea, and I know that I will not have the time or financial means to do it until I have an actual job. It also just added a lot of stress for me, because now I have been applying for jobs like crazy and honestly have no idea what I am going to do when I graduate in 3 weeks.

That in addition to finishing my honors thesis, (which I am so grateful to those of you who helped me with that) doing finals, and raising money for the JDRF walk left me completely exhausted. Every time I opened my blog I would get anxiety that I could be doing some other school work.

However, with that aside, I do want to say that my dad, Nick and I raised $585 for the JDRF and completed the 5k Walk to Cure Diabetes last Saturday! So many people reached out to support me in this, and I am so grateful. It is truly inspiring to me, because my original goal was to raise $200, and then when people were so interested I raised the goal to $300. I kept raising it at small increments as people donated, but I never imagined that I would approach $600! This to me was a true testament of how supportive people have been in my recent endeavors. I hope that those who donated to me who do not know about Type 1 diabetes took the time to read about it. It was also cool because I was the newest diabetic there, having been diagnosed in September.

 

Fitness wise, I have been keeping up with that. I’ve been at the gym or running from home at least 4 or 5 times a week. How have your fitness goals been going?I have been experiencing weird trends with my BG, which I don’t know whether to attribute to stress or not. When I started exercising, my insulin needs decreased and I had to turn down my basal permanently because I was setting a temp basal almost every night just to wake up between 90 and 100. But now, my exercise habits have remained the same, yet I have been waking up in the 130s-150s. I turned my basal back up to what it used to be, but I don’t really understand the change. I would prefer to use as little insulin as possible so I am sort of disappoint about it…

I finally completed my Honors Thesis, and I turned in the final draft last night. A HUGE thank you to anyone who participated. I will be searching for publishers, and hopefully be able to send out the paper in a few months. Though it is academic writing, I think anyone who wears a pump would enjoy reading it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovehatediabetes
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 23:13:46

    All I have to say, is I’m glad you’re alright! I was getting worried when you hadn’t posted for so long. But I totally understand the reason why. This time of the year is always stressful, and I’m not even a senior yet, ha!
    With the JDRF internship, that’s a big bummer. I can’t imagine that many people are able to afford that. Could you launch your idea through yourself, not partnered with JDRF?
    Looks like you had fun at the walk! I participated in my first year of being diagnosed at the MOA (Mall of America) in Minnesota (where I’m from). It was almost overwhelming with how many people there were. It was nuts. It was in a HUGE mall, but man, all us diabetics really filled it up 🙂

    Reply

    • divabetic913
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 00:20:27

      Well, I could start it on my own. But I need to find a full-time job. I planned on doing it alone originally, but I would still be using my own time and money to cover taxed, a web domain, publicity etc. They def. would have been able to help me with publicity and finding volunteers, but either way to do it with out a job is literally impossible. And then even with a job, it is a huge time commitment on top of my job and studying for grad school.
      I am not giving up the idea, but I think it would be better to implement it after I have my masters, or when i am living in a city that I plan to stay in long-term. (Nick and I was to go to grad school in NYC) But it was just sort of a let down, since their e-mails really had my hopes up!
      Your walk sounds way more effective than mine! Ours was on the beach, so it was pretty…but there wasn’t anyone on the beach to get exposed to diabetes awareness!

      Reply

      • lovehatediabetes
        Apr 18, 2012 @ 12:34:59

        That’s such a bummer! If there was anything I could do to help, I definitely would. Don’t give up on your dream though. Like you said, there may be a better place and time to do it.

  2. derp derp derp
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 21:02:19

    Thought this might help you…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

